Ah8h. 25 BB's. Standard?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ah8h. 25 BB's. Standard?

This is my first time posting a hand so if I do it wrong I apologize.

Weekly local small buy in tournament.
    Position: LJ
    Stack 25 BB's
    Blinds: 200-400
    Villian:HJ(very splashy) in fact all players left to act are calling stations/splashy, especially preflop.
    H: Ah 8h

It folds to me and I opened to 1000. HJ called. Flop came Jc 7s 5h, I Cbet for 1500 and he called. Turn brought a 4 of hearts giving me inside straight and flush draw. I bet 2500 and he went all in. With half my stack in I called off and lost when a blank hit the river. He turned a set of 4's.

Could I have let Ah8h go preflop. It seems to be well within a standard raising range with the blinds i had left but with everyone remaining being calling stations and splashy, maybe I could have let it go? So was this standard or did I muck it up on every street?

Again I apologize for not posting details well. I will get better at it.
    Last edited by jdavison2725; 07-15-2017, 12:08 PM.

Two pieces of info missing. 1) buy in 2) do villains have fully functional fold buttons.

Conceptually, there is nothing wrong with the line. The turn call was light but in these fast tourneys, you have to hit cards. Small mistake on that point as well.

the big issue I see is c-betting here. This flop favors villains range and to my expectation, these REGaments players are sticky and will chase. I'm parking myself at Calling Station and only taking 2 late streets, softly.

Comment

• jdavison2725
      jdavison2725 commented
      Editing a comment
      I was thinking the same about my C-bet as the flop favors his range.

Welcome the the forum. One thing I would recommend is not posting the results as it tends to sway answers IMO. Not a big deal though.