Channeling Ed Miller? Or just wild?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Channeling Ed Miller? Or just wild?

2/5 game, opponent is middle aged, looks and acts like a decent reg. This is a game with a $300 buyin cap, some have spun their stacks to the 400-600 range but most are <100BB.

Image: I was moved to this table one hour prior with about $300, picked up QQ, 3bet over a standard open, got 4bet by a young LAG, tried to 5bet all in only to be told that there is a limit of 3 raises to a hand; I could only call. I called, flopped low cards, shoved, LAG tank folds (likely AK). That hand got me attention. Generally, I am fairly new to the cardroom, recognize a few of the regs but don't have a fixed persona yet. I am a 50-ish white guy so maybe look like a standard rec player. I have been VPIP <20% since that hand so assume a fairly tight image (if anyone is following).

H 98hh P CO S 340 B 2/5. Table is 9 handed.

LJ (assumed tight passive), opens $15.
    Hero $40.

(I want to 3bet here to discourage a button and blinds overcalls. My plan is to bet most flops and take it down.)

BB (V) calls, LJ calls ($122 minus rake)

Flop AK5 no FDs.

BB K, LJ K, I $60, BB calls, LJ folds. ($242 minus rake)

(I continue with my plan. AK is good for my assumed range. V flat called pre-, capping his range. I size my bet to get stacks in on the turn or river)

Turn 6

BB K, I shove $240, BB tank folds and flashes an Ace.

(While his flop call indicates strength, his turn check is what I need. However, I don't think he will fold to much less than a pot sized bet. I have also turned some equity in case he does call.)

So - opinions please. I don't run this type of bluff too often, but maybe should add more of this into my play? Or am I just being too spewy.
    I fear that playing in the 60-70 BB range, it'll be hard to leverage stacks this way and get away with it often enough.

What does "BB K" mean, presumably check.