Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to get better at poker when you are . . . erm . . . not so bright.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to get better at poker when you are . . . erm . . . not so bright.

Yes . . It is another frustrated amateur poker player rant . . . Stop reading now if you don’t need to read another. But at the bottom of this I pose a specific question.

Some background:

- I have been playing for about 6 years.
    - I have been getting coaching from a very good coach (referred from this site) for about 1 year. It has helped a ton.
    - I put in about 7 hours of study per week in poker. One hour, every night. Study includes reading books (20%), reviewing hands (50%), watching training videos (30%).
    - I am a US player living in a state that makes it almost impossible to play online. However I do have an online account on a site that is fairly unknown. I play almost every evening. The selection of tourneys suck . . . but it is what I got.
    - I play about 30 live tourneys per year I would estimate. I am at the WSOP for several weeks every year.
    - I am horrible. Just horrible. Much more horrible live. I am lucky to cash more than 1 out 14 times. And it is almost always a min cash. Online I have about a +15% ROI. Thankfully, I have a steady income. LOL I live near Maryland Live so live play is readily available.
    - I have been playing tournaments only. I find cash play a little dull.

The level of frustration is getting unbearable. I just am not getting something. And I think that something is a very basic concept the separates good players from bad. I class myself as a very timid tight passive player. ESPECIALLY LIVE. I have gone two hours in a tourney without playing a single hand expect the BB.